The best blazer…

A few months ago now, my long-lost godmother visited me in Glasgow. We spent a wonderful afternoon checking out all the vintage and charity shops in Glasgow’s West End. I found this retro fabric that afternoon, so it’s extra special.

Pattern: Victoria Blazer from By Hand London

Made before? no
Will make again? I’d love to try the duster coat hack the BHL girls have blogged about. I’d also love to do one in silk-backed crepe, with the silk side showing on the labels and cuffs. And, of course, more retro fabric versions!!
Fabric: Retro polyester of some sort from Glasgow Vintage

jacket worn

At first I was planning on a shift dress, but I eventually decided with Yvonne that a blazer would be more practical – in Melbourne, as in Glasgow, you’ll often find a fairly sunny day where the wind is just a little too strong for only a t-shirt. Given that this is a retro polyester, it also is slightly warmer than it looks – I can see myself in this on a night out in Spring or Summer back home, too.

blazer sleeve close up

The Victoria Blazer pattern is well explained, beautifully presented, and a lovely fit for me with no alterations. I think that with the spongieness of this fabric you do lose some of the effect of the lapel and the seams/ darts that run from the neckline down to the bust. I did have to sew my lapels open to keep them flat.

I wore this blazer out for drimks with a couple of (male, non-sewist) mates of mine and blew their minds when I told them it was hand-made. “Irish Dave” has since brought this blazer up when I haven’t even been wearing it, which to me is a sign I have become a Successful Human.

 

Anyone know of quality vintage stores in Scotland? What’s your most brilliant fabric score? 

One thought on “The best blazer…

Leave a Reply

