Stoff and Stil sewing plans…

Stoff and Stil have updated their website with some new Autumn and Winter fabrics, and after a couple of days successful sewing I felt I deserved a fabric hit! I’m hoping to get these done by Shetland Wool Week, which mother dearest and I will be heading to at the end of September.

1. Kielo Dress

280086_pack

I’m planning to make a Kielo in some beautiful fern print crepe I already own, but when I spotted this pleated jersey I fell in love with the idea of a Grecian pleated and wrapped dress. I think this will also be an easy and versatile make – I can see it with tights and long-sleeves underneath in Winter, or with sandals in Summer for a night out. Simple, understated, but gorgeous.

2. Factory or Bettine Dress

710356_pack_sp

I love that Stoff and Stil include pictures of their fabric made up into garments – I would have missed this otherwise, but check out how it looks made up-

x23126_710356_sskit

The blousy fit of this reminds me of the Bettine, and given it’s a viscose fabric I think it will be the perfect fabric-pattern match. However, I’m tempted to try a factory dress, given my recent success with that pattern, and the option of wearing that with a cardigan and the collar poking out…the only hesitation I have there is the practicality of the Factory Dress’ slightly looser skirt on the windy Glasgow streets. I might end up trying to hack the two together, what do you think?

3. Definitely a Factory Dress…

780131_pack_sp

This is a potential wildcard. This cotton percale is listed as a “home” fabric and as it hasn’t arrived I’m not sure how soft and suitable for dressmaking it will be. However, I’m hoping it’ll make the perfect Factory Dress to wear in Winter, and feel subdued but slightly colourful – and I mean, it was on sale guys, who can blame me?!

I might end up making a toile of the factory dress, as I’m not sure how flattering I’ll find the skirt. The Orla dress which has been getting a lot of blog time recently looks a lot more youthful. Potentially I’ll try for the best of both worlds, making the Factory skirt gathered in the same way. I’ve also been wondering if side and back gathers, a la the Archer shirt, might be a win. I’m not going to make any promises, but a side-by-side comparison post could be interesting. I do love seeing Lisa Emerita’s process videos for those toiles….

What are your Autumn plans? Favourite online fabric stores? Wind + skirt solutions?

Leave a Reply

