A tale of two cleos…

I wasn’t convinced by the samples of the Cleo pinafore from Tilly and the Buttons. The curve from the waist to the hip was too pronounced for my taste (or so I thought), and I felt it made the garment unflattering. Enter the flurry of bloggers’ versions! I particularly fell for Dominique Major’s brocade version.

Pattern: Cleo Pinafore from Tilly and the Buttons
Made Before? only these two versions
Will Make Again? Yes
Fabric: olive print cotton from Spotlight, with an unbleached cotton lining, and fern upholstery brocade, also from Spotlight.

olivehanger

The first version I made was in this olive print cotton from Spotlight. I knew the fabric would be too light-weight for the Cleo, so I fully lined it with an unbleached cotton. Funnily enough, I made this while my parents sat in the same room watching a tour of Greek cooking! I was craving Ouzo or Retsina, let me tell you…and some haloumi…

The pattern was straightforward, easy to follow, and the top-stitching not as hard as I thought it would be. I do think the key to top-stitching is to not really give a shit. Sure, there are wobbles in it and the pocket stitches are a tad hap-hazard…but no-one other than me knows, and certainly, no-one cares.

Rather than using a button or buckle, I bought a snap fastening kit off etsy and fixed on these little black ones. Snap fastenings may be the key to my sewing success…I’m debating how childish shirts with snaps would be – like, an entire wardrobe of shirts with only snap fastenings…

fernhanger

The second version I made from this beautiful upholstery fabric, also from Spotlight. I cut the facings from the unbleached cotton Id used in the previous version. Unfortunately, the fabric is still too thick in places – for example, you can see here my snap has come out because there was too much bulk.

fernwornfront

Catherine was not convinced by this fabric. She thought I would look like a walking cushion in it. I was inspired by Dominique’s version, though, and ignored her.

fernworn

I love the way the straps meet at the back! It looks like a proper pinafore! Even though many parts of this pattern look as though they are finicky, it’s actually a very easy make. Each of these versions took not much more than an hour – turning the straps through being the most time-consuming part. Tilly’s instructions are outstanding, I’d recommend any of her patterns to a beginner.

I wore these a lot in Glasgow at the start of the year, with a dark green jersey dress I bought at H&M. They bring a bit of brightness and fun to the grim wintery days. I’m planning a maroon cord one, which is in fact almost done – but I’d love to do some embroidery on the pocket or try something else special. I think there is room in this pattern for some pom pom trim…or sparkles, like Kate from the Fold Line’s version…

Check out my pinterest board for some Cleo-themed inspiration. Are you making one? Have a different favourite pinafore pattern? Let me know in the comments…

Leave a Reply

